The Greatest Moment

ROTK-Minas-Tirith

As I was prepping curriculum for the writing course I’m teaching this summer, I took multiple breaks. Breaks usually make my nocturnal pursuits stretch into the dark throes of the night, and usually consist of me finding something light or funny to assuage the output of brain power as it veers toward dregs.

That being written, I generally enjoy io9, but they have been on a roll for the past day.

You know how much Bryan and I enjoy our Doctor Who, so I’m counting the days until it comes back on August 23 and the teaser is just making it worse. That will probably be the second reason I have a Hulu Plus account. The first is the one and only Que Pobres Tan Ricos, but I should just be honest and say Hulu Latino in general.

I have to join the ranks of the surprised when I saw that for SFX Magazine readers the greatest moment in sci-fi and fantasy was Rose and 10’s painful and angst-ridden goodbye in “Doomsday” for Doctor Who (even when I try, I always come back to Doctor Who…).

From what I saw on the list (the first 10 and then some of Joss Whedon’s work, all of which in my opinion should have been rated higher), it was skewed toward what is more current and trendy instead of what was more epic in the past 20 years. I wanted to see more moments that truly stood the test of time. People need to evaluate their lives and pop open some classics.

Including me–I’m so indecisive, I can’t even pick moments. I have to pick whole movies, series, and TV shows because they have multiple scenes that make me feel like I could live on another planet, or fly, or whatever. The following list is in a completely random order and not indicative of greatest to least. They include, but are not limited to:

The Matrix

The X-Men Series

The Avengers

Firefly

The Lord of the Rings (all)

Angel

Charmed

Buffy the Vampire Slayer

Gattaca

Star Wars (before it got crazy)

Back to the Future

Terminator

Yes, 3/4 of this list contains Joss Whedon, but you’ve been warned. Feel free to school me on the classics, but help me out: What are some of the best sci-fi and fantasy moments, or if you’re like me…movies, comics, TV series, etc.?

Leave a Reply

