Alone: The Girl in the Box, Book 1 Review

file8471245452213

I’ll just come out and say it: I have a ton of books on my Kindle that I downloaded because they were free. Some of them are still free, some of them are not, and I downloaded them without any regard to whether they were good or not. So along with my extensive reading list for this year, I also plan to weed some of those out and designate them “From My Kindle.”

Now down to business. I was pleasantly surprised by the first book in The Girl in the Box series by Robert J. Crane. It was a page turner and well written with plenty of action, intrigue, and snark–just how I like my reads. Sienna started interestingly, but I do think that there was possibly a snark overload somewhere around the middle of the book.  Some parts I did have to question, considering that she is a 17 year old girl locked up for 12 years and has so much knowledge with the only connection to the outside world being her mother and a television set…

The concept of metahumans is interesting. I do enjoy a good twist on genetically enhanced humans. And rather than explaining Sienna and her abilities solely with sci-fi, Crane’s twist connects it with a couple of nods to mythology rather than science (although you do get your standard testing facilities, power levels and struggles, shady big bads). Although, any time a book’s character can do anything and win any battle and turn water into wine I start to disconnect. For a moment, I thought this wasn’t the case but perhaps in future books Sienna will encounter a foe she won’t be able to beat with her power.

The book leaves off with an intriguing cliff hanger, however there are at least 8 books in this series and Sienna would have to go through some major character development to keep me along for the ride.  I might come back to this series later, and I did see that Crane has some epic fantasy that I could be tempted to try.

It’s definitely worth a read. The action sequences are really well done. There is some gore and suggestive language that had me lift my eyebrows a little, and the second half of the book really has you rethink Sienna. I was so engrossed that I finished the book in a day and because of this, (and Sienna’s development) I’d give it a 3/5.

Leave a Reply

